Dedicated to dance
since 1910.

Buy Latest Issue

The Carl Alan Awards

Posted on September 30, 2013

carl alan winners.20.9.13. 126

carl-alan-winners.20.9.13.-126The 2013 Carl Alan Awards, organised by Michael Stylianos and Lorna Lee, were held at the Copthorne Hotel Effingham Park on September 20. The event was hosted by Strictly professionals Karen Hardy and Ian Waite, while Olympic ice dance champion Jayne Torvill presented the awards.

Danish Amateur Latin couple Troels Bager and Ina Jeliazkova won the award for outstanding Amateur partnership, while Michael Malitowski and Joanna Leunis won the award for outstanding Professional partnership.

Len Armstrong, honorary president of the British Dance Council, won the award for outstanding services to dance. Dance promoter Philip Wylie of Holiday and Dance, a self-confessed late starter, won for exceptional contribution to dance.

The classical sequence special award went to Roy Sharpe, chairman of the British Dance Council’s Sequence Advisory Committee.

The lifetime dedication to dance award went to Blanche Ingle-Bateman, a popular choice, while the award for worldwide contribution went to Pierre Dulaine, who developed Dancing Classrooms, a social development programme for children, and who brought Jewish and Palestinian children together through dance in his latest film, Dancing In Jaffa.


Picture: the Carl Alan winners 

Photograph: Ron Self 


Nicola Rayner was editor of Dance Today from 2010 to 2015. She has written for a number of publications including The Guardian, The Independent and Time Out Buenos Aires, where she cut her teeth as a dance journalist working on the tango section. Today she continues to dance everything from ballroom to breakdance, with varying degrees of success. Her debut novel, The Girl Before You, was published last year in paperback, ebook and audiobook.

Connect with Dancing Times: