Dedicated to dance
since 1910.

Buy Latest Issue

Nominations sought for the 2016 Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award

Posted on November 24, 2016


Nominations are now open for the 2016 Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award, which honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. The award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by individuals who make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen. The winner will be announced at the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards on 6 February 2017.

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a dance manager, designer, teacher, healthcare practitioner, critic – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role. People who have been nominated in previous years but have not won can be re-nominated.

Previous winners of the award include: Dick Matchett , Theresa Beattie, Brendan Keaney, Val Bourne, Celeste Dandeker, Janet Smith, Marie McCluskey, Gill Clarke, David Burnie, Jeanette Siddall, Amanda Chinn, Frank Doran and Tamara McLorg.

To make a nomination, send the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award, to Joanne Whittaker, administrator, via email to All nominations must be received by Thursday, December 15, 2016. Please include your own name and contact details. Please also state where the person nominated is based and how he or she can be contacted.

The One Dance UK Industry Award is dedicated to, and named after, Jane Attenborough, who was the founding director of Dance UK. The 2016 Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award is generously sponsored by Gary Halkyard and Sprizzato.

Connect with Dancing Times: