Dedicated to dance
since 1910.

Buy Latest Issue

New Adventures Choreographer Award

Posted on June 14, 2011

The shortlist for the New Adventures Choreographer award, launched to celebrate Matthew Bourne’s 50th birthday, has been announced.



The winner will receive at least £15,000 to work on their choreographic skills over a 12-month period. They will receive mentoring from Bourne and other New Adventures associate artists to research and develop work with a company of New Adventures dancers, plus management and administrative advice. The award will end with a showcase performance of the created work.


The shortlisted choreographers are James Cousins, Tom Jackson-Greaves, Daniel Hay-Gordon, Soledad de la Hoz, Kristen McNally, Christopher Marney, Drew McOnie, Ernst Meisner, Jelka Milic, Ash Mukherjee, Rachael Nanyonjo, Sophie Robinson, Shane Shambhu, Neil Westmoreland and James Wilton. The winner will be announced in July.

Zoë was born in Edinburgh, and saw her first dance performances at the Festival there. She is the dance critic of The Independent, and has also written for The Independent on Sunday, The Scotsman and Dancing Times. In 2002, she received her doctorate from the University of York for a thesis on “Nationhood and epic romance: Ariosto, Sidney, Spenser”. She is the author of The Royal Ballet: 75 Years and The Ballet Lover’s Companion.

Connect with Dancing Times: