Dedicated to dance
since 1910.

Buy Latest Issue

Dance Today Teacher of the Year 2015

Posted on December 16, 2014

screen shot 2014 12 16 at 17.47.38

screen shot 2014-12-16 at 17.47.38Now in its third year, Dance Today Teacher of the Year in 2015 will be a very special event: this year, for the first time ever, the winning teacher will be announced publicly and presented with his or her trophy at Dancing at the Tower at Blackpool Tower Ballroom on March 28, 2015.

Dance Today Teacher of the Year is a nationwide competition that calls upon YOU to vote for your favourite dance teacher. You can vote by post or by email (see details below), but your vote must reach us by March 6, 2015. In previous years, the competition has proved a huge success, with hundreds of readers voting for their favourite dance teacher. In 2013, ballroom teacher Pauline Mason, of Danceworks Devon, was thrilled to be announced the winner, while last year our champion was T Damien Anyasi, of B Better, a London-based teacher who specialises in hip hop and breakdance.

The competition operates on a first-past-the-post basis: with the teacher with the most reader votes winning the title. The competition is open to all styles of dance, though the teacher should be based in the UK and cannot be a winner of the title within the last two years.

The Teacher of the Year will win a specially created Dance Today trophy (a framed cover of the magazine starring them), a feature about them and their studio in the magazine, and a year’s free subscription to Dance Today and sister magazine, Dancing Times, plus a pair of tickets to a dance show (details to be confirmed), a selection of dance CDs, DVDs and other goodies, as well as the honour of being Dance Today‘s top Teacher of the Year.

Dance Today will contact the shortlisted candidates on the week beginning March 9, to give them plenty of time to plan their trip to Blackpool Tower Ballroom. Shortlisted teachers will be asked to provide Dance Today with a high-quality photograph of themselves in action, so we can prepare the cover-trophy.

The gala evening on March 28 will include music by the fabulous Ross Mitchell, His Band and Singers, Young Champions in Cabaret, Learn and Improve sessions with hosts and teachers Warren Bullock and Jane Phillips, and Philip Wylie and Christine Parsons, and the announcement of our Teacher of the Year. For tickets, which cost £12 in advance, £15 on the door (subject to availability), visit or call 0871 222 9929. For more information on special arrangements for studios and groups and information on hotels, email Philip Wylie (, visit or call 01895 632 143.

How to vote

Voting opens on Monday, December 22, 2014 and closes on March 6, 2015.

Tell us why your teacher deserves to win and send your entry to us – or get in touch with any questions – at:

Post: “Dance Today Teacher of the Year competition”,
Dancing Times Limited, 45–47 Clerkenwell Green, London EC1R 0EB


Nicola Rayner was editor of Dance Today from 2010 to 2015. She has written for a number of publications including The Guardian, The Independent and Time Out Buenos Aires, where she cut her teeth as a dance journalist working on the tango section. Today she continues to dance everything from ballroom to breakdance, with varying degrees of success. Her debut novel, The Girl Before You, was published last year in paperback, ebook and audiobook.

Connect with Dancing Times: