accessibility text only version

New issue
on sale now...

006 dt june-2016

Inside this month:

Paul Arrowsmith talks to ballerina Miyako Yoshida about her career

Barbara Newman reviews Funny Girl and Show Boat

Zoë Anderson discovers how dresses are made for ballroom and Latin dancers

Marianka Swain goes Stepping Out

And much more


Nominations for the Laurence Olivier 2012 Awards announced:

Thursday, 22 March 2012

The Society of London Theatres has announced the nominations for the 2012 Laurence Olivier Awards.


In the dance section, the following have been shortlisted:

Outstanding achievement in dance – The design team for their work on The Royal Ballet’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland at the Royal Opera House; Edward Watson for his performance in The Metamorphosis at the Linbury Studio at the Royal Opera House; Sylvie Guillem for her performance in her production of 6000 Miles Away at Sadler’s Wells; and Tommy Franzén for his performance in ZooNation’s Some Like It Hip Hop at the Peacock Theatre

Best new dance production – DESH by Akram Khan Company at Sadler’s Wells, choreographed by Akram Khan; Gardenia by Les Ballets C de la B at Sadler’s Wells, directed by Alain Platel and Frank van Laecke; The Metamorphosis by ROH2 at the Linbury Studio, choreographed by Arthur Pita; Some Like It Hip Hop by ZooNation at the Peacock Theatre, choreographed by Kate Prince, Tommy Franzen and Carrie-Anne Ingrouille

Best theatre choreographer – Peter Darling for Matilda The Musical at the Cambridge Theatre; Javier De Frutos for London Road at the Cottesloe Theatre; Stephen Mear for Crazy For You at the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre; Andrew Wright for Singin’ In The Rain at the Palace Theatre.

The winners will be announced at the Olivier Awards Ceremony held at the Royal Opera House on April 15, 2012, hosted by Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton.


Pictured: Edward Watson in The Metamorphosis. Photohraph by Tristram Kenton.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated.
Basic HTML code is allowed.